top of page

Long year, excited for 2018

2017 has been an especially difficult year for me. There have been a lot of ups and downs. I love the journey that I have been on with my writing and couldn't be happier that I have decided to go the route I have with it. I have left my publisher, we just felt it was better to part ways amicably, even though I still have two stories with them. I am in the process of republishing my books that I had with them and have been working on several different projects.

One thing I've been extremely excited about is the Prince Collection written with A. Maslo. She has been an inspiration to me, and our voices blend so well, it is even difficult for me to tell who wrote what. She has helped me through some really tough times this year and always has my back. We finished Afflicted and are currently working on book 2 of the Prince Collection. Book 2 is a retelling of the Little Mermaid and I am excited to see where it is going. Alicia has become such a great friend, that I couldn't ask for a better friend and partner in all things we are doing.

We also started a design company making covers, teasers, banners, and logos. We haven't had a lot of business, but we are still learning and it is going well. I am impressed with the skills I have picked up when it comes to designing book covers.

I am also starting a new project with T.M. Grinsley. I can't wait to get going on it. We are writing a story based on Egyptian mythology. It is going to be a lot of fun.

One of the negative issues that I have had is that I am still dealing with my father's death. When I think that I am finally beginning to move on, something happens, I have a dream that throws me back into the darkness of it. I am doing my best to deal with it, but sometimes it sneaks up on me like the monster under the bed. Only there is no one to scare the monster away. The monster is my grief. I have found that Christmas lurking isn't helping me deal with it. I have a lot of regrets from the past. I try to live by the saying no regrets, but in this case, I am swamped with guilt. I didn't see my dad as much as I should have. I didn't take my kids to see him as often as I should. Granted, my other job is a time consuming one and I tend to work 7 days a week for months at a time, but at the same time that doesn't feel like a good enough excuse now that he is gone and I can't see him anymore. I just hope he knows how much I loved him. I still love him and my heart aches without him. There are nights when I just want to pick up the phone and give him a call, but know I can't do that anymore and its my own fault I didn't do it enough when he was alive.

I have been having really intense dreams about him, his death, and my regrets. I wake up in a fog or daze and feel off the rest of the day. I recently dreamed that I wasn't allowed to go to his funeral, yet I had to pay for the whole thing. It made me ache and I woke up in tears.

But enough with the sad. I want to end this post on a happy note. I have several Works in Progress that will make 2018 an exciting year for books. And I am officially signed up to go to Penned Con in September and I am uber excited about going to my first signing as an author!

I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, whatever you happen to celebrate! talk to you soon.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page